Great Books for Letterpress Printers

Having no formal graphic design background I feel just a little daunted when I read the pedigree of people who have set up other great letterpress studios… after years of experience in graphic design, typesetting or printing plus degrees in related subjects. I have trained in Interior Design and had printmaking tuition and would consider my self a ‘design conscious’ person, nevertheless I thought I’d start reading up on the subject. I bought several books, all of which I would totally recommend for being informative, instructive, practical and inspiring on letterpress, typography and design principles. Here they are:

Printing for Pleasure by John Ryder

Reinventing Letterpress by Charlotte Rivers

Typography Workbook by Timothy Samara

The Non-Designer’s Design Book by Robin Williams

Impressive: Printmaking, Letterpress & Graphic Design, published  by Gestalten

Hand Job: A Catalog of Type by Michael Perry

Leave a Reply

