Kitchen renovations interrupt printmaking

I’ve had to put printmaking aside for a couple of months while I satisfy one of my New Year Resolutions – to renovate my kitchen. When we moved in just over a year ago, we inherited a brown 1980’s kitchen – dark brown varnished units (but solid oak), brown tiles, beige floor and carpet (yes, carpet) under the kitchen table – completely unsuitable for children and dogs – plus the piece de resistance – the wallpaper, complete with names and drawings of common herbs (does anyone else remember this design? – It was very popular in the 80’s/90’s)

1980's oak kitchen

 

Oh, and did I mention that the kitchen was very, very dark? See how many spotlights are on for the photo?!

In the interests of upcycling, and the fact that the kitchen units, though dated, are solid oak, it seemed wrong to rip it all out… so I began the long process of sanding and repainting the cabinets and doors.

So here is the kitchen as it looks now – at the mid way point!

semi renovated kitchen

 

We have opened up the roof with Velux windows to let in more light and removed the wall units. Plus we took out the peninsula which chopped the room in half. A new slate-like porcelain floor is in (the best decision I ever made as it doesn’t show the dirt and is maintenance free – after limestone in the last house – never again!) and new worktops – Kashmir White granite – white with flecks of green and grey.

The cabinet carcasses have been sanded and painted (Farrow and Ball’s Bone Eggshell) and all 21 doors and 6 drawers are in my studio, having had the first of 4 coats. Here are some of them.

cabinet doors

 

 

There is also a new blind for the window which I never tire of looking at as it was made from fabric designed by Mark Hearld – a printmaker!

mark hearld fabric blind

 

 

So bear with me for a few more weeks on the print-making front while I do the next 3 coats of paint on my 21 doors and 6 drawers! I do have some wonderful plans for some custom made cabinet door knobs which I will share with you soon.

One thought on “Kitchen renovations interrupt printmaking

Leave a Reply

