Portuguese Water Dog Art Print

I have been wanting to create something combining hand drawn lettering and illustration and I had in my mind an idea for a design based on a dog tag. In my recent post on Hand Lettering and Sketches I wrote about taking part in an online Hand Lettering project run by hand-drawn lettering and branding guru Jon Contino via the Skillshare website.

My original idea was making a new print in the form of a hang tag so I thought this course would be perfect to help me develop it. Most people on the course were designing labels for actual products, like bottles of beer or soap but the ‘product’ for which I was designing a label is a dog, or more accurately a specific dog breed…

Imagine a dog in a pound/shelter with a tag around its neck. The purpose of the tag (product label) is to give a prospective owner some information about the dog breed in the hope that they will rescue the dog. So it is really doing the same thing as a product label – trying to differentiate and tell a story of the product – but in this case a dog, rather than a botte of beer!

There’s a bit of Paddington Bear in this project too – the lost bear with a luggage label attached – entreating its finder to ‘look after this bear’.

Well my project has now come to fruition!  Of course I had to start with a Portuguese Water Dog as my dog, Figo is a ‘portie’.

portuguese water dog art print by debbie kendall

portuguese water dog art print hand lettered detail by debbie kendall

This illustration was too fine detail to be cut into a lino plate so I used a photopolymer plate instead which is capable of capturing much finer lines. Here is the plate…

photopolymer plate by the enlightened hound

I am intending to draw and print dog tag breed stories for other dog breeds… so watch this space for your breed!

portuguese water dog art print by the enlightened hound

These prints are on sale at The Enlightened Hound

If you know anyone with a Portuguese Water Dog, please point them in my direction. We ‘Portie’ owners love to meet each other!

Leave a Reply

