In Memory of a Dog

A good friend recently had to say goodbye to her gorgeous flat coat retriever, River.

It was sudden and shocking news. I wanted to create something uniquely personal for her in River’s memory and also use drawing as an outlet for my thoughts on this sad news.┬áRiver was a beautiful boy, so handsome and good natured and his love of water really lived up to his namesake.

If you are familiar with my prints, you will know that hand-lettering is my ‘thing’ and as someone who bought one of my prints recently commented, I have to be “both a printmaker and a wordsmith”, so I decided to write a poem about River and combine it with illustration in a vintage style.

Here is my Ode to River, in pen & ink on Japanese Hosho paper…

Tribute to a dog

 

 

Framed tribute to a dog

 

One thought on “In Memory of a Dog

Leave a Reply

