Hand-Painted Lettering on Vintage Saw

I have seen some awesome hand-lettering projects on antique saws so I was happy when I got the chance to do my own. The saw I used has a carved hardwood handle and having been stored in a garden shed for the last 50+ years, there was a lovely rusty patina on the blade. I cleaned it up and removed all the loose rust to get a stable surface for painting onto.

I wanted to letter a phrase onto the blade that had some kind of connection with the use of a saw and woodworking – as well as being inspirational…. so here’s what I came up with:-

Hand lettering on old saw by Debbie Kendall

Read on to see more pics and find out more about the process…

After much pencil and paper work trying out different lettering styles and layouts, I transferred my chosen design onto the blade.

Lettering design traced onto saw blade

It took a while to figure out a nice colour combination – I settled on a simple, traditional palette of cream, red and ochre – and then using sign writers brushes and my favourite casein (milk-based) paint, thinned with a little water, I got painting.

SawDev5WSawDev6W

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SawDev7W

SawDev8W

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SawDev9W

…And after some painstaking hours of painting I was pretty happy with the result

Hand painted lettering on old saw

Hand lettering on antique saw by Debbie Kendall

The final stage was a thin coat of linseed oil to seal the painted letters and bring up the wooden handle to a nice colour. The oil also gave the painted lettering a nice vintage look.

Hand painted letters on old saw by Debbie Kendall

Hand painted lettering on vintage saw blade by Debbie Kendall

I like it so much that I’m not sure I actually want to part with it!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hand-Painted Lettering on Vintage Saw

Leave a Reply

